obama

I’m not even sure where to begin or even if I should be writing.

I’m still at a lost for words. I held it in all day. Unlike some people, like Rosetta had mentioned, were crying at the polls, I didn’t feel that way at all. Yes, it surreal. Yes, I felt proud. But I went all day without really crying.

Then, when CNN called the election in favor of Obama, and the words “Barack Obama elected President” flashed on the screen, tears streamed down my face. I couldn’t contain myself. As I sat in my friend’s bar on 9th and U, I was overtaken with emotion. As I began sobbing, my boyfriend held onto me. I looked over at the other end of the bar, and saw other people crying as well.

As soon as the cellphone traffic died down, I called my family. The phone call I won’t forget is my Nana, who lived through the Civil Rights Movement. Her voice was cracking as she spoke. “I never thought I’d live to see this day,” Nana said. “Now, I will live to tell my grandchildren and my great grandchildren that they, too, can be president. That they can be…whoever they want to be.

I lost it. As I looked out to 9th and U Street, NW, and saw the horns honking and black people dancing in the streets, more tears ran down my face.

My mother was away on business in Memphis, Tennessee. At the beginning of the night I received a text message from her that said the following:

PLEASE keep me posted. I am going to a church service and I need to know the news. Keep texting. Love, Mom.

So every time Obama won a state, I would text her to let her know. But when Obama was elected, I said “Mommy, Obama is our President!” She was stunned. All she could say was, “Oh my God.”

This is an incredible feeling. A Black President with a Black family. When I saw this picture:

It hit me that a woman who looks like me, a brown skinned woman, would be our first lady. From Jack and Jill Politics via SkepticalBrotha:

Is America ready for a First Lady who looks like her? A regular black woman? Not a passable biracial curly girl that they call black, but a regular black woman from the south side of Chicago? With dark skin?

Is she going to be the face of The Woman on the largest pedestal in the country? A self-confessed “loud-mouth” black woman?

If they succeed, it turns white supremacy upside down. And not, in my opinion, because a black man is in the White House, it’s because a black woman is in there. And she didn’t have to come in the back door to lie in bed with the president.

Imagine what this will do for black girls everywhere, to know that Black beauty is expressed in our White House.

I will have more to say and a Black blogger round up later on today. Until then let’s all listen to James Brown:

One more thing: how surreal is it to see this list of presidents on Wikipedia? Scroll down to the bottom to see what I’m talking about.

