I know I’ve griped a lot about young girls and teens and how they’re growing up so fast these days….but tonight I wanted to talk about a girl named Karina Pasian, a 16 year old up-and-coming r&b singer. She has a song about precisely some of the themes I’ve brought up i this blog: the challenges girls face growing up in a society that insists they rush into adulthood. My boyfriend and I heard it on the radio one afternoon and I thought to myself, “Man, I really wish more young r&b acts sung songs about things like this.”

Here it is…”16 at war”:

The bridge says it all: I want you to know the best of me/I want to belong without being treated like property. It’s so refreshing to see a young singer talk about something other than the boy around the corner or lip gloss…

…and trust me, I know there’s a time and a place for everything, and there is room for both kinds of artists. I happen to like Lil Mama cuz she’s very age appropriate and has a cute, funky style…but I’m just glad to know that the young generation of r & b acts are also talking about things of substance, and about how they think, feel, and react to the community around them.

I’m wondering if any of these younger female acts—Teyana Taylor and Tiffany Evans included–will fill the shoes that Monica, Brandy, and even Beyonce once filled.

To switch gears, this post wouldn’t be complete without a throwback track….I KNOW I am not the only one who remembers “That’s What Little Girls Are Made Of” by Raven-Symone…I even had the album!

