a few items for the evening:

  • So about this new 14th Street Target: I guess it’s kinda cool.  I mean, the proximity is great, i can get to it easier than the PG Plaza location, but I don’t know if i can get used to all the traffic in there. Frankly, I don’t know if this location is structured to handle a lot of foot/cart/toddler traffic…the aisles are super narrow, and you don’t have the open space that other locations seem to have. But here’s what reall grinds my gears:

What is it with people just letting their kids run all over the store?

22616911.jpg

no, really what is that?

not only is it dangerous, seeing as people don’t seem to know how to maneuver a cart around, but it just seems highly illogical for a parent to see that their kid is either going to a.-knock over a shelf display or b.-get knocked over by said shelf display.

It’s probably one of those things I’m supposed to understand when I have kids of my own as my mother would say….but I’m gonna go with my instincts and say that perhaps it isn’t. Common sense should tell you that a four year old has no business “rippin’ and runnin'” through a crowded department store.

Maybe I’m just being uptight….or not.

Okay, rant over.

  • This may be a possible Wire spoiler, but I watched the final episode last night and I have to say that the ending had me in tears. I felt lots of different emotions these last two episodes…happy for some characters and very sad for others, even a little nostalgic. I did want to hear Clay Davis’ catch phrase one more time   I’m going to follow Brooklyn Bodega’s lead and not give too many details. Instead, I leave you with commentary from the Baltimore Sun about the best show on television.
  • Now playing on Brooklyn Bodega: My boy Kwame Boadi  has a new analysis of the March 4th primary election showdown and what’s to come as the race that never ends rolls on. He tackles some of the hard questions–including whether or not it’s time for Obama to start swingin’ a little when it comes to negative campaigning. Speaking of which:

 Sen. Barack Obama Monday flatly rejected suggestions he would be a vice presidential running mate for Sen. Hillary Clinton.

Clinton, Obama’s rival for the Democratic presidential nomination, and her husband, former President Clinton, have suggested a joint Clinton-Obama ticket — with Obama in the second slot. (from CNN Politics)

Obama came out with guns blazin’, reminding all of us that he’s not here to play second fiddle. From the transcript:

I want everybody to be absolutely clear — I’m not running for vice president, I’m running for president of the United States of America.

I’m running for president of the United States of America. I’m running to be commander-in-chief. And the reason I’m running to be commander-in-chief is because I believe that the most important thing when you answer that phone call at 3 in the morning is: What kind of judgment you have? 

It’s too early to tell how this will effect Obama’s campaign, but my guess is that Obama supporters are ready to see him fight back a little–and yes, there is a difference between being the “angry Black man” and standing up for yourself and what you believe in. Hopefully folks are smart enough to know the difference…

Check out Talking Points Memo for the play-by-play and the video.

