so if you know me, you know that the most important things in my life are God, family, and music. so of course this blog wouldn’t be complete without at least one music-related topic during the week.

so this week i’m introducing the song of the week…it’ll be cross genre, and with women’s history month coming up the focus will most likely be female artists, but we’ll play that part but ear, shall we?

the first installment in this series is a rendition of “Take Another Little Piece of My Heart” by Janis Joplin with Big Brother and the Holding Company.

This was originally going to be about Dusty Springfield‘s version, but unfortunately I couldn’t find a version I could embed into my blog….in any case, this song has been on my mind since I heard it used in an episode of The Wire from season 5.

This cover is hot, but I’m partial to Dusty Springfield’s version since blue-eyed soul has a special place in my heart.

Enjoy, and happy Friday.

